RDA Board

Introducting Our Board Committee Members


Selected for their leadership and dedication to the community the RDA Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu & Kangaroo Island Committee consists of 10 strong voices from the region.


Chairperson: Ann Ferguson  annferg(at)chariot.net.au

Ann Ferguson, Mayor of Mount Barker is passionate about the Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island regions and this passion resulted in her appointment as Chair of Regional Development Australia Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island in February 2010.

Born and raised on Kangaroo Island, Ann moved to Mount Barker in 1964 where she commenced nurses training at the District Soldiers Memorial Hospital.  During her nursing career she served on the Royal Australian Nurses Federation for 10 years and the Nurses Board of SA for nine years before retiring from her profession in 2008.

In 2006 Ann was elected Mayor of Mount Barker after serving as an elected member from 1992 – 2002. She is a member of Regional Development Australia, Southern & Hills Local Government Association, Regional community Consultative Council, Adelaide hills Area Health Advisory Council, Adelaide Hills Climate Change Group and National Rail Freight Commission.


Deputy Chair: Carol Schofield AM  caroljschofield(at)bigpond.com

As long term resident of the Fleurieu, Carol has many years experience as a dairy farmer and aqua culturist in the region. She has also worked as a Quality Assurance Consultant assisting dairy farmers in the development and documentation of QA systems.

Carol was the first woman to Chair the Advisory Board of Agriculture and the first woman to be elected as President of the Agriculture Bureau.

The highlights of a long list of achievements and awards include, the Order of Australia (awarded in 2004), induction into the National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame in 2001 and an SA Great certificate in Recognition of Outstanding Achievement and Contribution to State Pride.


Board Committee Members

Victoria MacKirdy, Chief Executive Officer, City of Victor Harbor
Committee Member


Jan Loveday - Deputy Mayor of Adelaide Hills Council 


James Walters - Operations Manager, Joyson Orchards
Committee Member


Peter Wadewitz - CEO, Peats, Soils and Gardens
Committee Member


James Sexton - Chair of Business Mt Barker & Broker Sexton/Glover/Watts
Committee Member


Lorraine Rosenberg - Mayor of City of Onkaparinga
Committee Member 


Simon Rothwell - Councilor at District Council of Yankalilla
Committee Member